The Exams Office offers a certificated invigilator training session delivered in your centre by one of our trainers.

 

The following areas are covered by our trainers during each session:

  • The qualities required to invigilate
  • The role of an invigilator & JCQ expectations
  • JCQ regulation changes for the current academic year
  • Invigilating and facilitating access arrangement candidates (including the rules – the use of a reader, scribe, practical assistant, prompter)
  • Preparing for the examination
  • At the beginning of the examination
  • During the examination (including dealing with irregularities, malpractice and emergencies)
  • At the end of the examination
  • After the examination
  • Supporting your exams officer

To book your in-house training, please contact our trainers directly (see below).

 

For further information, or to request one of The Exams Office team to undertake invigilator training in your centre, please contact The Exams Office via email (contact@TheExamsOffice.org) or telephone (0333 7000 755 from 9am-3pm).

 

The cost of this training for members is:

25 invigilators or less – £195 (Non-members – £295)

26 – 50 invigilators – £345 (Non-members – £495)

50+ invigilators – £7 per invigilator (Non-members £10 per invigilator)

Map reference Trainer Contact details Areas covered
1 Kathy Stonham
(Bristol Grammar School, Bristol)
kstonham@bgs.bristol.sch.uk
Tel: 0117 933 9809
Bristol, Gloucestershire, Somerset, Wiltshire
2 Katherine McDiarmid
(Kendrick School, Reading)
kmcdiarmid@kendrick.reading.sch.uk
Tel: 0118 901 5859 (switchboard)
Thames Valley, West London, Oxfordshire, North Hampshire, Devon, Gloucestershire
3 Alison Gold aggold111@aol.com
Tel: 07956 504733
North & Central London, Hertfordshire, Middlesex, Essex
4 Amanda Moore amandajmoore@yahoo.co.uk
Tel: 07817914062
North West
5 Jane Hickey
(St.Martins Academy, Hinckley)
hickey.j@hotmail.co.uk
Tel: 07971587509
East Midlands
6 Lisa Longstaff
(Dunottar School, Reigate)
l.longstaff@dunottarschool.com
Tel: 01737 761945
Surrey, Sussex, Kent, South Hampshire
7 Marcia Woods
(Brookfield Community School, Chesterfield)
m.woods@brookfield.derbyshire.sch.uk
Tel: 01246 565804
Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, South Yorkshire, Cheshire
8 Geraldine Jozefiak
(HMP Norwich)
geraldinejozefiak@gmail.com
Tel: 01603 663864
Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire
9 Gemma Sadler
(Shireland Collegiate Academy, Smethwick)
gemma.sadler@collegiateacademy.org.uk
Tel: 0121 565 8929
West Midlands, Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire
10 Caroline Hodson
(Harrogate High School, Harrogate)
chodson@harrogatehighschool.co.uk
Tel: 01423 548800 / 07847794833
North, East and West Yorkshire

Neither The Exams Office nor our trainers take any responsibility for the actions of invigilators in examinations following this training. Trainers will deliver a pre-defined training programme, and it is the responsibility of the centre to ensure that invigilators are familiar with the specific centre requirements.