Launch announcement – January 2022


What the accreditation offers

The Exams Officer Digital Accreditation (EODA) has been designed to support exams office staff in confirming their knowledge and understanding of exam regulations

However, those new to the role are encouraged to complete the New Exams Officer Induction and Assessment Module before attempting the EODA

The EODA also forms a key part of the proposed Exams Officer Professional Standards (EOPS) which the National Association of Examinations Officers (NAEO) are launching in 2023. The NAEO have formally endorsed the EODA by the inclusion of its logo within the online certificate and as the formal measurement of one of the key elements of the EOPS – confirmation of an exams officer’s knowledge and understanding of exam regulations

By successfully completing the EODA on an annual basis you will be confirming to senior leaders within your centre, and key stakeholders such as the JCQ and its member awarding bodies, that you possess a strong knowledge and understanding of the key regulations associated with the management, administration and conducting of examinations. This is a key element of qualifying an individual to undertake the role of exams officer within a centre

There are also aspects of the role which are centre specific and cannot be assessed by an online timed assessment. Therefore, the use of the term ‘accreditation’ rather than ‘qualification’ is more appropriate, as this assessment will:

  • recognise an individual as being qualified to perform the functions relating to the exams officer role as defined by the JCQ, the awarding bodies and Ofqual
  • raise the status of the role within the education sector
  • support heads of centre in ensuring that the integrity and security of examinations is maintained within their centres


Areas covered

The EODA includes content from the following JCQ publications:

(Section 1) General Regulations for Approved Centres – 10 questions, maximum time allocation 6 minutes

(Section 2) Instructions for conducting examinations – 20 questions, maximum time allocation 12 minutes

(Section 3) Access Arrangements and Reasonable Adjustments – 10 questions, maximum time allocation 6 minutes

(Section 4) A guide to the special consideration process – 5 questions, maximum time allocation 3 minutes

(Section 5) A guide to the awarding bodies’ appeals processes – 5 questions, maximum time allocation 3 minutes

(Section 6) Exam room posters – 5 questions, maximum time allocation 3 minutes

(Section 7) Information for candidates – 5 questions, maximum time allocation 3 minutes

(Section 8) Key dates in the examination cycle: Summer 2022 examination series – 5 questions, maximum time allocation 3 minutes

(Section 9) Post-Results Services – 5 questions, maximum time allocation 3 minutes

(Section 10) Suspected Malpractice: Policies and Procedures – 5 questions, maximum time allocation 3 minutes


The EODA will be updated and made available when all of the above JCQ publications are made available each academic year


Completing the EODA

Exams officers must answer 75 questions in a maximum of 45 minutes across all the publications listed above. Questions are selected randomly from a bank of questions, and the accreditation can only be claimed when 100% is achieved across all assessment sections

Before certification is claimed the EODA can be attempted as many times as required, and each section can be restarted until 100% is achieved

EODA is an ‘open-book’ assessment where exams officers are permitted to consult the regulations whilst completing all sections

The EODA is updated on an annual basis to reflect any regulation changes, and therefore, exams officers are required to complete the EODA on an annual basis to confirm an up-to-date knowledge of exam regulations.



Upon successful completion, the EODA can be sumbitted for certification. This will generate an online certificate which confirms that a Pass has been achieved and the date of submission

Your administrator (very likely the exams officer) will have access to your online certificate and a further document which details each of the ten assessment sections

A certificate can be obtained each academic year upon successful completion of the EODA



Access to the EODA is included within your centre membership to The Exams Office